Thursday, June 13, 2024 UTC


PROPERS: 07-04_Independence_Day_DL

Parishes live-streaming in the Diocese can be found here:

The Gospel Reading for today is Matthew 12:15-21. The Gospel follows: “15 Jesus was aware of this and withdrew. Large crowds followed him, and he healed them all. 16 He warned them not to make him known, 17 so that what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah might be fulfilled: 18 Here is my servant whom I have chosen, my beloved in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will proclaim justice to the nations. 19 He will not argue or shout, and no one will hear his voice in the streets. 20 He will not break a bruised reed, and he will not put out a smoldering wick, until he has led justice to victory. 21 The nations will put their hope in his name.”

U.S.A. Independence Day

In the 1700s, America was 13 distinct colonies. Britain’s King George III enacted various laws and taxes on the colonial people without regard to hardship. Thus, the phrase “Taxation without representation is tyranny” was the rally. As the colonists rebelled, King George enacted more force on the colonists as well as the Stamp Act of 1765 which taxed all paper documents, i.e. newspapers, legal documents, ships’ papers, playing cards. In the fall 1768, British ships showed force by arriving in Boston Harbor. Tensions increased with the Boston Massacre in 1770. Then in 1773, the Boston Tea Party erupted, followed by the Revolutionary War in 1775.  As more colonists desired independence, the Continental Congress finally met at the Pennsylvania State House, known as Independence Hall, in Philadelphia on June 7, 1776. During the meeting, Richard Henry Lee, the Virginia delegate, presented a motion calling for independence of the colonies from Britian. After debate, Congress rescheduled the vote on Lee’s resolution and selected a five-person committee to discuss and write the Declaration. Thus, the Declaration was prepared/written by the Committee of Five, of which Thomas Jefferson of Virginia was the principal author, and the other four members being John Adams of Massachusetts, Roger Sherman of ConnecticutBenjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, and Robert R. Livingston of New York. On July 4th 1776, the United States of America proclaimed its independence from Great Britian with the signing the “Declaration of Independence,” and the Fourth of July holiday was seen as the official anniversary of United States independence.

Verified by MonsterInsights